La Jolla Rotary invests in youth through scholarship program
by Mariko Lamb
Published - 05/24/13 - 12:06 PM | 3284 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
ROAD TO SUCCESS: Rotary Youth Leadership Awards facilitator Russell King (far right) presents the La Jolla Rotary’s merit-based Riford Scholarships to students from La Jolla high schools. Photo by MARIKO LAMB
view image
The Rotary Club of La Jolla presented 17 scholarships to high-achieving high school seniors at an awards luncheon May 21.

“We are so excited to be doing this scholarship program. This represents a tremendous amount of work on behalf of Rotary members,” said Russell King, facilitator of the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) program. “We appreciate all the work you’ve done and the sacrifices you’ve made to get here.”

The $5,000 scholarships are divided into two types of scholarships: need-based Rotary scholarships and non-need-based Riford scholarships.

“Congratulations to all of you who are scholarship recipients today,” said Cindy Goodman, co-chairwoman of the scholarship program. “You were all winners before you applied. You are winners now, and you will be winners in the future. We’re delighted to be involved in the process of helping you achieve your goals. You are about to embark on the time of your lives. You’re going to have a wonderful next four years and we’re glad to be a part of it.”

Scholarship winners for 2013 include Cameron Baggett, Tom Edman, Amir Ferry, Caitlyn Kellogg, Daniel Lee, Summer Beeson, Jessica Lange, Jacqueline Le, Brandon Khuu, Jessica Webster, Judith Martinez, Kailyn Miller, Delfina Gonsalez, Matthew Vasquez, Saron Goitom, Maura Kanter and Caroline Boldt.

All of the students hail from La Jolla high schools, including La Jolla High School, La Jolla Country Day, The Bishop’s School and The Preuss School at UCSD.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Comments are back! Simply post the comment (it'll complain about you failing the human test) then simply click on the captcha and then click "Post Comment" again. Comments are also welcome on our Facebook page.