La Jolla Cluster reacts to school budget cut
by Adriane Tillman
Published - 03/24/10 - 04:35 PM | 3918 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The La Jolla Cluster is tackling its first major problem: a 2.5 percent budget cut to each of the five La Jolla schools. The cluster — a group of teachers, parents and principals from all five La Jolla public schools — sent a letter to the superintendent and board of education asking the district to work with the principal to soften the blow.

The San Diego Unified School District board voted last November to cut 2.5 percent from the budget of each school in the district.

La Jolla Cluster member Sharon Jones, who represents La Jolla Elementary, said the funding reduction hits La Jolla schools harder than most in the district.

“La Jolla schools are among the lowest-funded,” Jones said. “The cut hits the lowest-funded schools the hardest because we don’t have as many sources of government funding.”

The cut in funding will affect programs to help struggling students, the Gifted and Talented Education (GATE) program, as well as textbooks and supplies, Jones said.

School budget cuts:

Bird Rock Elementary School loses $39,000, the bulk of which helps pay for math and literacy.

La Jolla Elementary School loses $26,000, half of which pays for support for struggling students.

Torrey Pines Elementary School loses $15,000, which helps fund support for English learners.

Muirlands Middle School loses $19,000 with a chunk disappearing from the GATE program.

La Jolla High School loses $48,000 with half of that being slashed from the GATE program.

The La Jolla Cluster plans to organize into a non-profit in April. The cluster includes teachers Ginny LaRowe and Laura McCord, parents Laurie Barnet and Lisa Bonebrake and principal Carol Barry to represent Bird Rock Elementary; teachers Debbie Balmat and Stephanie Cole, parents Sharon Jones and Fran Shimp and principal Donna Tripi to represent La Jolla Elementary; teachers Brenda Baniaga and Erika Saldivar, parents Missy Coleman and John May and principal James Solo to represent Torrey Pines Elementary; teachers Demian Hartmann and Suzanne Serafin, parents Alison Lee and Sherry Macelli and principal Chris Hargrave to represent Muirlands Middle; and teacher Malcolm Jarvis, parents Natalie Mann and Maureen Weber and principal Dana Shelburne to represent La Jolla High.

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
Comments are back! Simply post the comment (it'll complain about you failing the human test) then simply click on the captcha and then click "Post Comment" again. Comments are also welcome on our Facebook page.